If You Liked That Book, Try This Book!

This is my first time doing this trend properly!

Last year, I recommended books based on songs that had a similar vibe, so this time, I’m comparing books to other books! I’ve tried my best to compare popular books to books with less hype, but I’m also very behind on popular books trends, so they might both be books you haven’t heard of!


If you liked THE WICKED DEEP, read SUMMER OF SALT!

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw and Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno are both in my favorite type of hyper-specific YA books. Both take place on small coastal towns with a light magical element in a setting that is otherwise our normal world. They also both have small town traditions that are interrupted by the arrival of a new person in town.


If you liked THE DEEP, try EACH OF US A DESERT!

I’m definitely not the first to make this comparison but the whole time I was reading Each of Us a Desert by Mark Oshiro, I was thinking about the similarities between these two books.

The Deep by Rivers Solomon is an adult novella about a mermaid-esque society where one person holds onto all of the stories until one day she lets go of the stories. Each of Us a Desert is a YA book about a girl who’s supposed to take stories in order to get rid of them, until one day she decides to hold onto them before she runs away. Plus, both stories are by queer authors with queers MCs!


If you liked GEEKERELLA, try BE DAZZLED!

These are for you guys who love books about fandom and conventions.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston is a YA contemporary novel that takes the Cinderella story and applies it to the daughter of a man who created a convention and the actor who is rebooting a beloved sci-fi show. It’s cute and sweet adn everything you’d expect from a story of this description.

Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala is a YA contemporary novel all about cosplay. Half of the book takes place the weekend of a convention while the other half is going back in time, showing how the cosplays were made and how the main character got together and eventually broke up with his boyfriend. It’s all about art and friendship and second chances. It’s also gay, if you didn’t pick that up!

Geekerella is about fandom as a whole while Be Dazzled hones on on the cosplay and arts & crafts part of conventions! No matter what, you’re in for a good time.


If you liked THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO, try JONNY APPLESEED!

Ok, look, ok, is it a weird one? Yes, but hear me out.

Do you like books that are so lush and in-depth with their characters that you forget they’re fiction and think they’re memoirs for a moment? These two books fit that bill.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid is a novel about an aging Hollywood star telling her life story for the first time, taking us through the Golden Age of Hollywood and telling us what she did to survive in the industry adn her love life along the way. Jonny Appleseed by Joshua Whitehead is about a Two-Spirit, Indigiqueer person going back to the reservation to attend his step-father’s funeral while telling his life story to us.

Reading both of these books, I had to remind myself that these were novels and not actual memoirs. They were both 5 star reads for me and both some of my favorite queer books of all time.


What do you think about this style of book recommendations? Do you want to see more? Have you read any of these before? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s