If you Like That, Try This | Sapphic YA Recs

I knew I wanted to do something gay for all of June, but I was at a loss…. until I remembered recommendation posts are a thing.

This is my first time making a post like this, so we’re going to see how this goes. Here are my oddly specific sapphic YA recs!

If you like the magical feel of Anna-Marie McLemore…

You might like Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno!

Yes, this is a weird thing to focus on, but I couldn’t get it out of my mind when reading. While I didn’t rate When the Moon Was Ours very highly, the magic system and feeling of magic this book gives

Big rape warning for this book, however.

If you like romantic comedies, but prefer yours with less second-hand embarrassment…

You might like Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour!

As far as I remember from this book, it has the dreamy feel of some romantic comedies, it’s sweet and cute with an interesting premise, but I wasn’t hiding behind my hands at every scene! The perfect rom-com.

If you like books where the romance isn’t the main issue…

You might like The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember or Ash by Malinda Lo!

Make no mistake, these books do have romantic subplots, but the book isn’t all about the romance. For more than half these books, the romance isn’t the biggest issue. Both these books have the romance put on the back-burner for the main character’s growth and the main plot.

Maybe more books are like this, but these two really stuck out of me as decidedly putting the romance on the side. Both have sweet romances, but it’s not constantly in your face.

If you like books that combine two wildly different concepts…

You might like Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis!

I cannot recommend this book enough. It’s different and fascinating and so diverse! It combines the “running from an oppressive fantasy kingdom” with “hiding something fantastical from mundane family” together and sprinkles a bit of Sense8 in there for extra measure.


By the way, I will be doing at least one more, so if this list looked a bit… white, I will be remedying that with the next recommendation list with specifically queer characters of color!

Have you read any of these books? Do you have any oddly specific queer recommendations? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s